AGENDA

Regular Meeting – March 13, 2019 – 9:00 AM Courthouse Annex – Commission Meeting Room

ROLL CALL

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

PETITIONS FROM THE PUBLIC – FIVE (5) MINUTE LIMIT

APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES FROM THE REGULAR MEETING HELD February 27, 2019.

CONSTITUTIONAL OFFICER REPORTS

CONSENT AGENDA

- 1. Budget Amendment Request for Special Assessment Fire to Allocate Prior Year Fund Balances Per Fire Department.
- 2. Appointment of Wanda Violet to the Tourist Development Council.
- 3. Budget Amendment Request Sheriff's Office Employee Payout \$3,376.52.
- 4. Budget Amendment Request Sheriff's Office Employee Payout \$4,807.88.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

1. Status of Agreement between Madison County and the City of Madison for Building Official and Inspector Services.

PUBLIC WORKS DEPARTMENT

1. Approval of Speed Bumps for SW Bentley Street – Commissioner Martin.

NEW BUSINESS

- 1. 9:00 a.m. Public Hearing for Special Exception Application by Madison Country Club.
- 2. Resolution 2019-03-13; Finding the Continuing and Repetitive Spills of raw sewage into the Withlacoochee River and Mud Creek by the City of Valdosta to be Unacceptable and Intolerable.
- 3. Presentation of 2015 Water Use Estimates and Upcoming Water Supply Planning Activities Mr. Ben Glass, Suwannee River Water Management District.
- 4. Economic Development Update Mr. Crawford Powell.

Planning & Zoning Board

Mack Primm, Chair – District 1 – Term Ends January 1, 2022
Mike Holton – District 2 – Term Ends December 1, 2020
Calvin Malone – District 3 – Term Ends February 1, 2021
Richard Cone – District 4 – Term Ends December 1, 2020
Christy Grass – District 5 – Term Ends February 1, 2021
Jeanne Bass – At-Large – Term Ends June 1, 2021
Chad Thurner – At-Large – Term Ends June 1, 2019
Tim Ginn – School Board Representative
Dot Alexander – Alternate – Term Ends February 1, 2020

Commissioners

Alston Kelley, Chair – District 1 Donnie Waldrep – District 2 Ronnie Moore – District 3 Alfred Martin – District 4 Rick Davis – District 5

Tourist Development Council

Chair of BOCC or His Designee, Chair to be Re-Appointed Annually Prior to July 1st – Term Ends June 1, 2019

Jim Catron – Elected Municipal Official from Most Populous Municipality – Term Ends June 1, 2020

Edwin McMullen – Elected Municipal Official from Any Municipality – Term Ends June 1, 2019

Latrelle Ragans – Involved in Tourist Industry and SUBJECT to the Tax – Term Ends June 1, 2020

Brenda Graham – Involved in Tourist Industry and SUBJECT to the Tax – Term Ends June 1, 2019

Trent Abbott – Involved in Tourist Industry and SUBJECT to the Tax – Term Ends June 1, 2020

Jackie Blount – Involved in Tourist Industry and NOT SUBJECT to the Tax* – Term Ends June 1, 2019

VACANT – Involved in Tourist Industry and NOT SUBJECT to the Tax* – Term Ends June 1, 2019

Princess Roebuck – Involved in Tourist Industry and NOT SUBJECT to the Tax* – Term Ends June 1, 2020

*Not More Than One of the Positions Marked with an Asterisk May Also be Filled by a Person who is Subject To the Tax.

Competency Board

Benjamin Grass – Term Expires January 1, 2020 Travis Renfroe - Term Expires January 1, 2021 Dennis Pitts – Term Expires January 1, 2020 Jayson Williams – Term Expires January 1, 2020 Curtis Johnson - Term Expires January 1, 2021 Dewayne O'Quinn – Term Expires January 1, 2020 Danny Plain – Term Expires January 1, 2020

Code Enforcement Board

Brian Leonardson – Term Expires January 1, 2022 Anthony O'Quinn – Term Expires January 1, 2022 Eddie Taylor – Term Expires January 1, 2022 Curtis Johnson – Term Expires January 1, 2022 Lynette Sirmon – Term Expires January 1, 2022 Freddie Simmons – Term Expires January 1, 2022 Jimmy Anderson – Term Expires January 1, 2022

Madison County Development Council

BOCC APPOINTEES:

Ed Meggs – Term Ends – January 1, 2020 Rick Davis – Term Ends – January 1, 2020

PROCEDURAL RULES FOR THE MEETINGS OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

The following notices are hereby given to all persons concerning the meetings of the Board of County Commissioners of Madison County, Florida (hereinafter the "Board"):

- 1. The rules contained in the current edition of Robert's Rules of Order Newly Revised shall govern the meetings of the Board in all cases to which they are applicable and in which they are not inconsistent with the law, these rules or are otherwise waived by the Board.
- $2. \ \ No$ comments from the floor will be allowed under any circumstances.
- 3. The Board shall hear as many comments from the public as practicable during any meeting.
- 4. No member of the public may address the Board who has not previously signed up to address the Board, unless he or she is requested to do so by the Chair.
- 5. Any member of the public who wishes to address the Board on any topic, which appears on the agenda or otherwise, must sign up before the scheduled time for public comments.
- 6. All speakers will be limited to five (5) minutes per topic, unless leave is given by the Chair.
- 7. Any identifiable group of three (3) persons or more shall be limited to a total of ten (10) minutes per topic.
- 8. All members of the public given the privilege of addressing the Board, shall do so at the beginning of its scheduled meeting, or immediately following the lunch time break, if the scheduled meeting continues past the lunch time break.
- 9. The Chair may rule any speaker out of order and require that speaker to cease addressing the Board and if necessary order the bailiff to remove that speaker from the Commission Chambers if:
 - A. The speaker refuses to confine his remarks to the topic at hand.
 - B. The speaker becomes belligerent, irrational, or in any way disruptive to the meeting of the Board, or,
 - C. The speaker refuses to cease addressing the Board after his allotted time.
- 10. No agenda item will be designated for any specific time other than a time during the first three (3) hours of the meeting, unless leave is given by the Chair. All times shown on the agenda are approximate.
- 11. No item may be added to the agenda of the Board of County Commissioners except upon request of the Chair, a Board member, the County Manager, the Clerk of the Board or the County Attorney.
- 12. All decisions of the Chair concerning parliamentary procedures, decorum, or rules of order will be final, unless they are overcome by a majority of the members of the Board in attendance.
- 13. The Chair shall vote on all issues that come before the Board in the same manner as a member of the Board.

Notice: All items listed on the agenda are for discussion & possible action including vote by the Board. The Board reserves the right to amend the agenda of any meeting to the fullest extent allowed by law. Pursuant to the provisions of the Americans with Disabilities Act, if you are a person requiring special accommodations to participate in this meeting of the Board, you are entitled, at no cost to you, to the provision of certain assistance. Please contact Billy Washington, Clerk of Court, at P.O. Box 237, Madison, Florida 32341, telephone: (850)973-1500, at least 48 hours prior to the meeting. If you are hearing or speech impaired, please call 711. If a person decides to appeal any decision made by the Board with respect to any matter considered at this meeting he or she will need a record of the proceedings, and that, for such purpose, he or she will need to ensure that a verbatim record of the proceedings is made, which record includes the testimony and evidence upon which the appeal is to be based.