FHP Joins Forces with “Deputies Without Borders Initiative” [MCSO is a Participant]


From the Taylor County Sheriff’s Office

On April 23, eight Florida Sheriffs including Taylor County Sheriff Wayne Padgett, announced their partnership with the Florida Highway Patrol in the “Deputies Without Borders Initiative”, a joint criminal interdiction task force, focused on fighting crime in the Big Bend area.

The task force will allow for rural counties like Taylor County, to share and utilize resources, intelligence, and manpower. The task force allows for concentrated efforts to be focused on hot spots of illegal activity, ranging from drug trafficking to property crimes.

This collaborative effort of combining forces with other agencies has been a priority for Sheriff Padgett since day one, and he is proud to stand by Sheriff A.J. Smith, Sheriff Morris Young, Sheriff Mac McNeill, Sheriff Walt McNeil, Sheriff Eddie Joe White, Sheriff Benjamin J. Stewart and Sheriff Jared Miller in bringing the “Deputies Without Borders Initiative ” to the citizens of Taylor, Franklin, Gadsden, Jefferson, Leon, Liberty, Madison and Wakulla Counties.